Test: Power Sharing - 1

10 Questions MCQ Test Indian Polity for UPSC CSE | Test: Power Sharing - 1

This mock test of Test: Power Sharing - 1 for Class 10 helps you for every Class 10 entrance exam. This contains 10 Multiple Choice Questions for Class 10 Test: Power Sharing - 1 (mcq) to study with solutions a complete question bank. The solved questions answers in this Test: Power Sharing - 1 quiz give you a good mix of easy questions and tough questions. Class 10 students definitely take this Test: Power Sharing - 1 exercise for a better result in the exam. You can find other Test: Power Sharing - 1 extra questions, long questions & short questions for Class 10 on EduRev as well by searching above.

In Belgium, the percentage of French community is:


In Belgium total population divided as:

  • 40% of the population belongs to French Community.
  • 59% of the population belongs to the Flemish Community.
  • 1% to the German-speaking Community.

Match List-I (forms of power-sharing) with List-II (forms of government) and select the correct answer using the codes given below the lists :


(1) In a democracy, power is shared among different organs of government i.e. legislature, executive, and judiciary. This is known as the horizontal distribution of power because it allows different organs of government placed at the same level to exercise different powers.

(2) Federalism is the system of government in which power is divided between a central government and regional governments; in the United States, both the national government and the state governments possess a large measure of sovereignty.

(3) Power may also be shared among different social groups such as the religious and linguistic groups. ‘Community government’ in Belgium is a good example of this arrangement.

(4) Power shared by two or more political parties is the Coalition government.

Thus, option C is correct.


Which of the following is an example of horizontal sharing of power?


In the horizontal distribution of power, it is shared among different organs of the government namely legislature, executive, and judiciary. In this system, each organ checks the other, and thus there exists a system of checks and balances.

Example: The distribution of power between the Indian Parliament (legislature), the council of ministers headed by chief ministers (executive), and the Courts of India (judiciary).


Power struggle demanding separate Eelam was launched by:


Due to the policy of majoritarianism Tamilians were suppressed under the supremacy of sinhalese. So, they launched movements against this and demanded a separate Eelam.


The Community government in Belgium is elected by _________.


People belonging to one language community such as French, German and Dutch irrespective of where they live elects the community government in Belgium.


What does the coalition government imply?


A coalition is the association of political parties having the same ideologies or same interests for the purpose of political strength and maximum representation. The decision of coalition is taken by each and every political party part of the representation.


Belgium shares its border with:


Belgium is a federal state located in Western Europe, bordering the North Sea.

Belgium shares borders with: 

  • France (556 km)
  • Germany (133 km)
  • Luxembourg (130 km)
  • Netherlands (478 km)

Which two languages are generally spoken in Belgium?


The two languages are generally spoken in Belgium French and Dutch
Dutch is the official language of the Flemish Community and the Flemish Region (merged to Flanders).
French, an official language of the Brussels-Capital Region.


The Community Government signifies:


The Community Government signifies:

  • The powers of the government regarding law-making for the community.
  • The powers of the government regarding cultural, educational, and language-related issues.
  • The government enjoys privileges to safeguard the interest of a particular community.

An Act of recognising Sinhala as the official language was signed in:


The Sinhala language in the year 1956 was recognized as the official language of Sri Lanka. 

Similar Content

Related tests