Important Questions Test: Our Country India

20 Questions MCQ Test NCERT Hindi Textbooks (Class 6 to Class 12) | Important Questions Test: Our Country India

This mock test of Important Questions Test: Our Country India for UPSC helps you for every UPSC entrance exam. This contains 20 Multiple Choice Questions for UPSC Important Questions Test: Our Country India (mcq) to study with solutions a complete question bank. The solved questions answers in this Important Questions Test: Our Country India quiz give you a good mix of easy questions and tough questions. UPSC students definitely take this Important Questions Test: Our Country India exercise for a better result in the exam. You can find other Important Questions Test: Our Country India extra questions, long questions & short questions for UPSC on EduRev as well by searching above.

Himalaya means the abode of?


The Himalayas, or Himalaya, literally means, "abode of the snow", is a mountain range in South Asia separating the plains of the Indian subcontinent from the Tibetan Plateau.


The northern most limit of India is


The northern most point of confinement of India is 37degree6' N scope. All the extraordinary purposes of India notwithstanding south are questioned, either politically or geologically. The northernmost point that India claims is currently under China. In any case, at introduce the Northernmost point regulated by India is Point NJ9842, close Indira col in Siachen Glacier, along the line of control.


Which of the following states does not common boundaries with Pakistan


Indian states that share borders with Pakistan are: Jammu and Kashmir, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Punjab. Jammu and Kashmir is located in the northern part of the Indian subcontinent in the Karakoram Range and westernmost Himalayan mountain ranges.


Which of the following States is a member of the ' Seven Sisters '


Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura are commonly referred to as "Seven Sister States".


Which is the highest Himalayan peak in India



Kangchenjunga at 8586 m

Also known as the Five Treasures of Snow, Kangchenjunga stands tall at the elevation of 8586 m above sea level. The mountain by Tamur river lies between India and Nepal. It is the highest peak in India and the third highest summit in the world.


India is located in which continent?


The entire continent of Africa sits on the African Plate. Asia, the largest continent, stretches from the eastern Mediterranean Sea to the western Pacific Ocean. There are more than 40 countries in Asia. Some are among the most-populated countries in the world, including China, India, and Indonesia.


Which is the eastern most state of India


India's eastern-most state is Arunachal Pradesh. Part of the state is claimed by China as "South Tibet", though administered by India, The easternmost of Indian-administered territory is located in this disputed region.


Which is the standard meridian of India?


The standard meridian of India is 82.5 degrees east of the Greenwich Meridian.


Peninsular plateau is


The Peninsular Plateau is almost triangular in shape.The Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats lie to the west and east of the Peninsular Plateau, respectively. The Peninsular Plateau is divided into the Central Highlands and the Deccan Plateau.


Which of the following is not the sea which surrounds the India Peninsula


The Indian peninsula is sorrounded by the Arabian sea on the west, the bay of Bengal on the east and the Indian Ocean( which comprises of the bay of Bengal and the Arabian sea).The Pacific Ocean does not share a border with India(it is near Japan and usa). Hence the answer is A.


In the ____ part of India lies the Great Indian desert


There are mainly three types of deserts found in India. Indian desert lies in the western side of the country. The two main states which is the part of an Indian desert are Rajasthan and Gujarat. This is the reason for hot and dry climate in these states combined with cool nights and hot days.


The greatest Himalayas are also known as


The Himalayas consist of three parallel ranges, the Greater Himalayas known as the Himadri, the Lesser Himalayas called the Himachal, and the Shivalik hills, which comprise the foothills. Mount Everest at a height of 8848m is the highest peak followed by the Kanchanjunga at 8598 m.


It is an area of land formed at the mouth of the river


A river delta is a landform that forms from deposition of sediment that is carried by a river as the flow leaves its mouth and enters slower-moving or stagnant water. This occurs where a river enters an ocean, sea, estuary, lake, reservoir, or (more rarely) another river that cannot carry away the supplied sediment.


Average height is 6000 metres which contains some of the world?s highest peaks are


The northern most range is known as the Great or Inner Himalayas or the 'Himadri'. It is the most continuous range consisting of the loftiest peaks with an average height of 6,000 metres.


The meridian of 82º30' E whose local time serves as the standard time for the whole country.


The 82degree 30' East longitude is taken as Standard Time Meridian of India, as it passes through the middle of India (Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh). Indian Standard Time: GMT + 05:30.


The river which is called the Ganga of the south


Godavari river is known as Dakshin Ganga or the Ganga of South. The source of the Godavari is northeast of Bombay (Mumbai in the local Marathi language) in the state of Maharashtra, and the river follows a southeasterly course for 1,400 kilometres to its mouth on the Andhra Pradesh coast. The Godavari River basin area is second in size only to the Ganga; its delta on the east coast is also one of the country's main rice-growing areas. It is known as the "Ganga of the South," but its discharge, despite the large catchment area, is moderate because of the medium levels of annual rainfall, for example, about 700 millimetres at Nasik and 1,000 millimetres at Nizamabad


Which river is called Tsangpo


The Brahmaputra goes by a number of names during its journey to the sea. It begins as the Yarlung Tsangpo in southwestern Tibet and becomes the Dihang in China, then the Brahmaputra in India and finally the Jamuna in Bangladesh.


The Thar desert lies west of the


The Thar Desert extends between the Aravalli Hills in the north-east, the Great Rann of Kutch along the coast and the alluvial plains of the Indus River in the west and north-west.


The hills of the Himalayas beyond the Brahmaputra valley are called


Purvanchal is the name given to a geographic region of north-central India, which comprises the eastern end of Uttar Pradesh state. The Brahmaputra river marks the easternmost boundary of the Himalayas.Beyond the Dihang gorge, the Himalayas bend sharply to the south and spread along the eastern boundary of the country. They are known as the Purvanchal. These hills run through the eastern states.They are mostly composed of sedimentary rocks. They are covered with 'dense forests. They mostly run as parallel ranges and valleys. The Purvanchal comprises of Patkai Bum, Naga hills and Mizo hills and many other hills.They are mainly composed of strong sand stones.


They __________ are rich in minerals like coal and iron-ore


Plateau has most depositions of minerals as coal and iron pills bez the water that flows from the valleys brings all the minerals to the plateau

Similar Content

Related tests